Stratford Upon Avon

If you’ve read my post about the Globe Theatre, then you already know that Shakespeare is my homeboy and I need the world to know it. To thine own self be true, right? Accordingly, I had a grand old time visiting Stratford Upon Avon.

Let’s just be real here for a second: I took like 8 million pictures of random buildings where Shakespeare supposedly stepped foot at one point or another. So for the sake of this post not being ridiculous, I’m just going to limit myself to posting the two most important.

P1000260

The birthplace of Shakespeare (April 23, 1564)

P1000255

Trinity Church: Burial Site of Shakespeare (April 23, 1616)

Now, if you’re really astute, you’ll notice that Shakespeare was born and died on the same day. This is controversial because historians don’t actually know for certain, but I choose to believe it because it’s poetic and Shakespeare deserves that. You know, the wheel is come full circle.

In fact, the authenticity of Shakespeare’s authorship is controversial because so little is known about him. Again, I choose to believe he existed because no legacy is so rich as honesty.

And finally, here’s a picture of me and my girl, Lady Macbeth. AKA my favorite fictional female. What a boss.

P1000254

Stratford Upon Avon: highly recommend it for any Shakespeare lovers out there. Also, I threw some Shakespeare quotes in this post from Hamlet, King Lear, and All’s Well That Ends Well. Comment if you found them all!

2 thoughts on “Stratford Upon Avon

  1. What Fun?

    “To thine own self be true” – Hamlet
    “No legacy is so rich as honesty”. – All’s Well that Ends Well
    “The wheel is come full circle” – King Lear But on the Lear quote you make Shakespeare sound as though he is using bad grammar as in the context you provided it should be” The wheel has come full circle”

    • You got it! In reference to the King Lear quote, I assume you mean that it sounds as if it is bad grammar because the context I’m using it in is past tense. However, Shakespeare’s character, Edmund, used the line in much the same manner: “The wheel is come full circle. I am here.” Because of the cyclical nature of the comment, the line refers to the past and the present, hence the questionable grammar. Besides, it’s important to remember that Shakespeare wrote in a combination of poetry and prose, therefore some artistic licence for the sake of iambic pentameter can surely be justified, no?

Leave a Reply

