Academic Graffiti

So, if you’re my friend on facebook, you might have seen this status I posted:

However, I feel like he phenomenon that is academic graffiti needs to be more fully explained.

So, the first quote that caught my eye was from Virgil’s “Copa”, and it read, “death tweaked at my ear, ‘live,’ he said, ‘I am coming.” Now, I probably would have translated it differently, but the message remains the same: Live while you can; death will come regardless.

Or in other words, as one apt graffiti-er commented: “YOLO”

And finally, in response, the last graffiti artist responded to the brilliant summary with a paraphrase of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, “but by any other name, would the quote still smell as sweet?”

Now, I don’t know if this is just the bibliophile in me showing, but this weird genre of academic graffiti is absolutely hilarious to me.

For good measure, here’s a picture of a rather dedicated homage to T.S. Eliot’s “The Love Song of Alfred Prufrock.” Honorable mentions also go to the opening lines of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Something about the literary merit of the quote, the lazy scrawl in which it’s written, and the wooden veneer of the stall door just tickles my fancy.

IMG_2209[1]

There you go, folks, that’s as close as I’m going to get to toilet humor!

Leave a Reply

