Academic Update #2

About a month ago I posted an academic update and it wasn’t exactly the most optomistic of posts. Well, I’m back for another update and hopefully this time it’ll be a little brighter!

It’s hard to believe, but it’s actually 8 week, which means it’s officially the last week of the academic term! I know; it’s crazy! I simultaneously feel like I just got here and that so much has happened. I’ll give a quick rundown of the craziness of the second half of term.

First off, I got really sick which really threw a wrench into my academic flow. Fortunately though, this country has free healthcare and I received antibiotics for my chest infection with no hassle at all. (Shoutout to NHS and God save the queen!) However, because I was literally incapacitated and had no voice for a week, all my tutorials got pushed back. Also, because I’m not a superhuman and didn’t feel like dragging myself to the library while coughing up a lung, I ended up trying to read and write papers on Geroge Eliot’s Middlemarch, Thomas Hardy’s Tess of the D’urbervilles, and William Blake’s “All Religions are One,” “There is no Natural Religion,” “Laocoon,” and “The Marriage of Heaven and Hell” all at the same time. Needless to say, it was a tad stressful.

Now, I’m finishing up my study on Blake and reading Oscar Wilde’s Salome and An Ideal Husband. Hopefully with my health back in working order, my work will be of a bit higher quality. Also, I’m happy to say that I’ve made good progress on the work/life balance endeavor I was aiming for in my last post. I’ve taken care to take more “chill days.” I’ve been spending them exploring the town and sketching a little. Here’s a rough sketch I did of Tumnus from the door that inspired Narnia.

IMG_2212[1]

Tumnus is my muse.

 

Leave a Reply

